Project Week: Bangalore

“It’s not about ideas, it’s about making ideas happen” -Scott Belsky

When I signed up for this trip I had no idea what I was getting myself into but I wanted a chance to do something new. The proposal said we were going to learn how to 3D print and build a drone. So I thought, oh wow, I probably won’t get this opportunity again for a long time so why not. I was scared that I wouldn’t be able to use the high-tech but I found out that if you take the time to learn, and when you have good teachers like we did at the makers space called Workbench Projects, you can do anything. I worked on building the drone, laser cutting and woodworking (in which I built an adjustable bookshelf for personal use). I feel like I made the most of this opportunity because it made me think about my career options. I have always felt inclined to do something within the field of health and that I wouldn’t interact with too much technology but I think this was a chance to get in sync with the rest of the world because we’re headed towards a world where technology will be present in just about every facet of human life. Apart from the actual projects I felt that I made everlasting friendships with so many people because we had to work together in order for anything to work. There’s was always somebody you could learn from and often somebody you could teach. This was a life-changing experience and I would do it over and over again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For a more holistic view of the experience open the doc below:

BANGALORE PW

Leave a Reply

