Recreation: Badminton

Sports do not build character, they reveal it. It’s all in the follow-through.

Term 1:2nd November-10th December, 2016

At the beginning of the year I decided to join Badminton with the intention of only staying committed to the sport for a year, because I wanted to get the most out of sports at UWCMC. I planned to take part in a range of sports including swimming, basketball and football. The badminton recreation activity was surely an unforgettable experience. I made quite a few friends, in this contact free sport. My reaction time improved, I feel more competent in the sport. In badminton you are required to analyze your opponent’s strengths and weaknesses during  the course of the game and hence use this to your advantage; but because this was not a competition but a learning opportunity we focused more on building on each other’s strengths and identifying weaknesses.

For instance, when we played as pairs by teammate taught me how to smash, a technique in badminton which allows you to hit the shuttlecock hard and fast enough that your opponent does not even see it coming. Which likens your chances of getting a point. Another instance, in which I offered constructive feedback was when I found that my opponent was having a hard time with quick movements. I suggested that she should stand in an offensive position (feet apart, knees slightly bent and racket held up) to allow for quicker long distance movements and that for drop shots (shots from other side of the net headed your way that are directed straight down by a sharp follow through) she should take one long step toward the net, and hold down her racket to recieve the racket once in contact all she had to do was lift her racket and direct the shuttlecock to the other side of the net. I believe this feedback was helpful because she was beginning to get a lot of the drop shots.

As I played badminton, I learned how to work effectively with a partner as we had to coordinate our movements in a manner that allowed for minimal probability of missing a shot. However, I found that chemistry was a key component of this coordination. Sometimes it was almost impossible to reach an agreement with the partner that was assigned to me. The diversity at this UWC made way for greater disputes but I worked my way around this in order to build healthy relationships with everyone I worked with.

It’s been a wonderful experience but I’m now swimming in Kriya! Excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

