Great Canyon Hiking Trip

I just want to go one more adventures. Be around good energy. Connect with people. Learn new things. Grow.

In September this year (2016) we went on a hiking trip at this beautiful canyon called Great Canyon. It was a hilly place, filled with trees and waterfalls. Most of the paths were extremely narrow and one foot placed on the wrong side meant definite death. I am not a pro-hiker, this was actually my first one. It was raining cats and dogs that day but our dear facilitator bid us on. Our overall goal was to get past the canyon to the other side where we were to hike up a (really steep) hill. Our first challenge was to get through this wide water-filled dam, through this gravel path that was slightly higher than the water level. This path was also very narrow, so we had to really maintain our balance. Prior to the trip I had decided that I wanted to be able to connect with people and be keen on working with my team. Hence during this challenge I helped people who were scared to get through by holding their hand and walking slowly through it. It felt good to be able to lend a helping hand. The next challenge was crossing the major waterfall that had extremely high water pressure which made it even harder to stand and walk through it. We had to hold on to the rocks lined up on the side (more like hang on for dear life) and ingenuously work our way through to our facilitator who would help us cross over to the other side. In all honesty I didn’t think I’d survive this, but my friends kept me alive. Despite the fact that we were all from different parts of the world who shared little to nothing in common, we still managed to work together. The language was a barrier most of the time, especially when trying to initiate conversation but when our lives were on the line we did what we could to get through. Through this I learned a lot about human nature and what connects us, it is our sense of empathy and need to survive that will rise above all else. In the end we got through numerous waterfalls, big and small, all the forests, the narrow paths on cliffs and the muddy steep hill. I enjoyed this trip and although I couldn’t get any pictures because it was raining the memory of this muddy experience will remain in my mind for as long as I live.

Leave a Reply

